Food and Cookery

Key Stage 3 - an overview of the skills and content taught in Key Stage 3

At Northolt High School we try and encourage our students to be healthy through our compulsory cooking program. Every pupil is expected to learn how to cook basic dishes. All students will participate in a minimum of 8 practical lessons where they will learn basic cooking skills and develop an awareness of health and safety. Students will also be learning about what it means to be healthy and make wise food choices,  where food comes from and the different ways we can prepare and cook these foods.
In year 7 the students will be making eight products that relate to the five sections of the Healthy Eating Guide, these products are; Fresh Fruit Salad, Chocolate Chip Muffins, Crispy Chicken Bites, Vegetable Couscous, Sweet Potato Curry, Rock Buns, Beef Burgers and a designer recipe. In year 8 the students will be making; Pizza Scrolls with homemade dough, Spaghetti Bolognaise, Mini Carrot Cakes, Savoury Rice, Shepherd’s Pie, Vegetable Stir Fry, Chicken Schnitzel and Fruity Biscuits.
The KS3 course aims to give the students basic skills in food preparation and cooking and to also better understand what nutrients our body needs to function properly and what foods these  nutrients are found in. 

What is the title of the course we offer?

NCFE Level 2 Certificate in Food and Cookery 

Why study this subject?

This qualification focuses on an applied study of the food and cookery sector and learners will gain a broad knowledge and understanding of working in the sector. This qualification has been designed to sit alongside the requirements of core GCSE subjects. It’s appropriate for learners who are motivated and challenged by learning through hands-on experiences and through content which is concrete and related directly to those experiences.  It will provide students with experience of using different cooking techniques and methods to enable them to use these within further education or apprenticeships.
If you love cooking and learning about food then this course is for you.

What will I learn? 

  • How to prepare and cook using basic skills
  • Understand food and its functions in the body and in recipes
  • Understand balanced diets and modification of recipes for health
  • Plan and produce dishes for a purpose
  • Learn to understand and follow recipes
  • Understand how to prepare yourself and the environment for                   cooking 
  • Describe safe and hygienic working practices
  • Assess potential risks and hazards in the kitchen environment
  • Understand where food comes from and the seasonality of food
  • You will produce a portfolio to demonstrate your understanding of         all of the above.

How is the course assessed?

  • Internally  assessed portfolio and an externally assessed exam.
  • You must  pass all 4 mandatory units to be able to pass overall.
Unit 01 Preparing to cook Internally assessed
Unit 02 Understanding food Internally assessed
Unit 03 Exploring balanced diets Externally assessed exam (you will get two attempts at passing the exam)
Unit 04 Plan and produce dishes in response to a brief Internally assessed
All units will be assessed on a Pass, Merit or Distinction basis. If you cannot pass a unit you will be put on the level 1 qualification.