Key Stage 3 - Years 7 and 8

The Key Stage 3 Maths course aims to build upon the foundations laid at primary school whilst fostering a love for the subject as students approach their GCSE course. 
With the course split into Number, Algebra, Stats, Geometry and Probability there is something for everybody. Students consolidate the skills they have already gained at the same time as they discover Maths that they have never seen before.
The lack of exams at Key Stage 3 allows us to engage in problem solving and puzzle activities which were not accommodated under the previous structure for this age group. 

Key Stage 4 - Years 9, 10 and 11

What is the title of the course we offer?

Edexcel GCSE Mathematics (1MA1)

Why study this subject?

A pass in GCSE Mathematics will keep open the doors to whatever you want to achieve in life. On top of this, the syllabus enables you to see how maths can be and is used in the everyday situations you face outside of school.
The current GCSE was launched in 2015 and was first examined in the summer of 2017. The new exams look to build and assess the logic and problem-solving skills that will enable students to learn complex skills and deal with challenging situations. Questions are set in contexts that students will see in the real world such as decorating a room or designing a garden; or perhaps paying bills or sorting out rotas for shop staff.

What will I learn?

The content of our GCSE Mathematics specifications has been grouped into the topic areas of Number, Algebra, Geometry, Statistics and Probability.
In comparison to it's predecessor, the course places a renewed emphasis on problem solving, functionality and mathematical thinking.
GCSE Mathematics is vital for getting into Sixth Form, College or employment. If you achieve a grade 6 or above you can also study Maths at A level, which will give you the opportunity to explore maths further and to follow a number of fascinating degree courses at top universities.
It is now statutory that a student must remain in education until the age of 18 if they have not acquired at least a grade 4 in Maths and English. 

How is the course assessed?

The new GCSE follows the two-tier model introduced in 2006: Foundation tier, where grades 1 up to 5 may be achieved, and Higher tier, where grades 3 up to 9 are possible.
The course is assessed entirely by written examination, which means that no coursework will be expected from any student.
All 3 papers are taken at the end of the course (usually, but not always, at the end of Year 11) and any part of the specification can be tested on any paper. Paper 1 is a non-calculator exam whereas calculators are permitted for papers 2 and 3.