BTEC Health and Social Care

Why study Health & Social Care?

BTEC Health and Social Care is a two year diploma course and choosing to study for a BTEC Level 2 First Health and Social Care qualification is a great decision to make for many reasons. It is an area to work in which gives many varied opportunities for you to make a difference to people’s lives in a positive way. At the same time you are gaining skills that you can transfer to other professions later. Working in the health and social care professions can also take you to different parts of the country and overseas.

What does it prepare me for in the future?

Do you want a job where you...

  • care for others – a hospital assistant
  • give advice about healthy living – health care support worker, health administrator
  • help children or the elderly –nursery worker, child minder
  • support others who make people well – laboratory assistant, dental technician
  • give emergency assistance – paramedic
  • you can continue on to further Health and Social Care studies or train in the workplace, e.g. through an apprenticeship

What will I learn?

The qualification is structured into mandatory units (ones you must do) and optional units (which the school will decide). These are:

  • communication in health and social care
  • human lifespan development
  • the impact of diet on health
  • individual needs in health and social care
  • health and Social care services
  • individual right in health and social care
  • ensuring safe environments in health and social care.

What skills will I acquire?

Students who study this course will acquire good communication skills to develop positive relationships with people using services. There is an opportunity to gain first-hand experience by completing a placement in either a health or social care environment. You will develop skills for learning and understanding in a specific subject. Other opportunities will allow the learner to acquire, team work skills, creative thinking skills, learn how to be an effective participator in learning and to think as an independent learner.

How is it assessed?

The units of work are assessed by a series of internally assessed tasks. These tasks will be based on a scenario where you work in a health or social care organisation. Your assessment could be in the form of:

  • a written observation or report
  • training materials, such as leaflets, PowerPoint presentations, fact files.

There will be one externally assessed unit: Human Life Span Development.

Students on this course will be awarded credits for each unit of work studied and the success criteria ranges from a pass, merit or distinction. A Level 2 pass is an equivalent to a GCSE grade C, a merit to a GCSE Grade B and a distinction is equivalent to GCSE grade A.